In our latest edition of “Getting To Know Us”, I spoke with the enterprising Kyla Francis, Senior Manager, Retail Merchandising.

Explain your job as you would to a 5-year-old.

That would be tough, but if I had to, I’d tell them I help my customers spend their money in a way that gives them more bang for their buck.

Why your role and why @ Active?

Active is about finding solutions for clients. When our customers started requesting solutions for their Retail Marketing initiatives, we decided to do our research and source leading and innovative vendors who can live up to the quality standards that our clients required as well as work within the Active model. Now that we can meet the customer demand, an entirely new department was born.

Tell us about your charitable cause of choice and the last thing you did to support it?

I support Team Fox which is the Michael J Fox foundation for Parkinson’s Research as well as The Arthritis Society of Canada. I’m actually in the process of planning a fundraising event to support it. Stay tuned!

If you weren’t in your current career you would probably be …

Writing novels on the beach.

Adjective your family would use to best describe you?

I asked my sister and she said charismatic. Hmmm…interesting.

Adjective your Customers would use to best describe you?

Accommodating.

Adjective your best friend would use to best describe you?

Funny (sarcastic funny).

Biggest trend impacting your area of the business to date?

Digital and interactive merchandising is at the forefront of my division. From talking holograms to touch screen  displays, the whole world is going digital but it also has a great impact environmentally.

What’s the most innovative thing you’ve seen a customer do to unlock value from their assets?

I think its great that our customers use their Trade Credits to expand their marketing budgets and not just offset them. Not only are they using their problem asset to pay for their marketing initiatives, they are using them to expand their  budgets. What marketer doesn’t want more budget?

Favourite Ad of all time?

My favourite ad right now is the Red Stripe Big Words Commercial- hilarious!