This week on “Getting to Know Us”, I chatted with the vivacious and extremely talented Nikki Rollins to discuss her role here at Active International.

Explain your job as you would to a 5-year-old:

I strategize and develop varying degrees of partnerships. Oh wait, a 5 year old? I make friends.

Why Your Role and why @ Active?

Active is a dynamic work environment so there is never a dull moment.

Most memorable moment at Active so far?

I had an agency ask me for help on an unexpected issue.  When it was all done they sent me a really nice basket with loads of treats for the team in thanks.  It was the nicest thing! I just wish I hadn’t left on vacation and had gotten to enjoy some of the delicious snacks. I still have the card in my office though.

Tell us about your charitable cause of choice and the last thing you did to support it?

Sick kids is near and dear to my heart. My monthly and annual contributions are small in the grand scheme of it all, but I know it helps them develop new cures that are world renowned. But my favourite part is volunteering. If you’re ever having a bad day, those kids will take your amazement for the human spirit to all new heights.

If you weren’t in your current career you would probably be ……

A Pilot.

Adjective your family would use to best describe you?

If you ask my son, he says “silly mommy”.

Adjective your Customers would use to best describe you?

The most common seems to be reliable.

Adjective your best friend would use to best describe you?

Well, I asked and the word is “scintillating”.  I had to Google it too.

Biggest Trend Impacting Your Area of the Business To Date?

Businesses are most definitely seeking new cost savings and efficiency drivers.  Active is a smart solution for these, without sacrificing quality.

What’s the most innovative thing you’ve seen a customer do to unlock value from their assets?

It would actually be from an agency who was seeing shrinking ad budgets and cancelations because of inventory issues with the client.  They had such a good experience working with us on another client that they asked us to come in and help.  What a smart way for the agency to add value to their client and demonstrate real partnership.

Favourite Ad of all time?

Virginia Hey Oil of Olay Bugsy Brown 1989I know it’s shocking because clearly I was barely out of diapers at the time this came out.