Hello readers and welcome to the newest edition of “Getting to Know Us”. My name is Andrea Allen and I have recently joined the Active team as the new Sales and Marketing Intern. I’m currently working on my MBA from Wilfrid Laurier University and I’ll be interviewing and writing for the blog over the next couple months. I’m excited to share all that I learn about the incredible industry of corporate trade and about Active’s proven winning business model.

This week on “Getting to Know Us”, I profiled Michael Villeneuve, Group VP, Sales. As the new kid on the block, interviewing Michael painted a much clearer picture for me as to what Active does and what it can offer its customers.

Explain your job as you would to a 5-year-old

I’ll give you this chocolate bar if you give me that apple….

Why Your Role and why @ Active?

Why not?  I mean, what other company can be a solution in almost every boardroom challenge?   We all have limited resources at our disposal to meet and exceed shareholders’ expectations.  At Active, we get to help our customers do more with the resources they have; and we do so by bringing people together, which is very rewarding.

Most memorable moment at Active so far?  

The look in my customer’s eyes when they realize they just found hundreds of thousands of new dollars to support their EBIT targets.

Tell us about your charitable cause of choice and the last thing you did to support it?

I work with a local church group to provide food and clothing for those less fortunate in our region.   Seeing the smile on the moms’ faces as they get what they need to help them through the next couple weeks helps me realize how lucky I am.

If you weren’t in your current career you would probably be …… 

A lousy professional tennis player.

Adjective your family would use to best describe you? 

Genuine

Adjective your Customers would use to best describe you? 

Committed

Adjective your best friend would use to best describe you? 

Loser (he’s a best friend, not a nice friend… Also worth noting that I recently took all of his money at a game of poker).

Biggest Trend Impacting Your Area of the Business To Date? 

Referrals.  As Active provides real measurable returns for its clients in partnership with their agencies, referrals are made to us on a regular basis.  Without an outside sales push, we have grown our business over 30% in the past two years simply through referrals.

What’s the most innovative thing you’ve seen a customer do to unlock value from their assets?  

Smelt a machine the size of a football field including the 17 ocean freight containers it was in.

Favourite Ad of all time? 

Heineken, “The Entrance”.

Cheers,

Andrea Allen

Sales & Marketing Intern