I sat down with Liza Shepherd, Active’s newest Media Assistant, to get to know the kind and friendly young professional supporting our rapidly growing media team!

Explain your job as you would to a 5-year-old?

I help the media team buy advertising on television and/or the radio,  such as a commercial for your favorite toy while you are watching your show on tv.

Why Media and why @ Active?

I was in a co-op program at Dalhousie university and I did a placement for an advertising agency and I worked in the media department. It was my first time working in advertising and I quickly knew that it was something that I wanted to pursue. I heard amazing things about Active and I found their model intriguing and I wanted to be a part of it, so I applied!

Most memorable moment at Active so far?

My first day here I realized how friendly and welcoming everyone is. I have only been here for almost 2 months and it feels like longer.

Tell us about your charitable cause of choice and the last thing you did to support it?

I am a big supporter of The Terry Fox Run and Three to Be. I participate in The Terry Fox Run every year that I can, but I always ensure that I donate regardless. Three to Be is near to my heart as they are my family and it is such a unique, unfortunate story.

If you weren’t in your current career you would probably be ……

Travelling and exploring the world

Adjective your family would use to best describe you?

Kind

Adjective your Customers would use to best describe you?

Friendly

Adjective your best friend would use to best describe you?

Loyal

What’s the most innovative thing you’ve seen a customer do to unlock value from their assets?

Spending credits towards “anything to your imagination” allows customers to be as innovative as they want!

Favourite Ad of all time?

Superbowl commercials over the years. There are too many to name! I love them all.