Active Canada continues to grow!  We are all absolutely thrilled to welcome a few new team members in recent weeks:  Liza Shepherd (Media Assistant), Ryan McGillivray and Sean Patterson (Sales & Marketing Interns).  I had recent a Q&A with Ryan & Sean, who both joined us from the Wilfrid Laurier University Business School Co-Op program on April 30th.

Why did you pick Active for your Co-op Placement?

Sean:  It provided me an opportunity to touch a lot of different industries under a unique business model. If I can learn one interesting thing a day then it is a good day!

Ryan:  It is a really innovative industry that I wanted to learn more about.

It’s now week 4! Your first impressions of Active? 

Ryan:  All good! The people have been very welcoming and helpful in getting me settled, and patient as I adapt to this new setting.

Sean: The people here are what make the business great! Everyone brings enthusiasm and a witty sense of humour to their day which is refreshing.

Explain your role as you would to a 5-year-old:

Sean:  I help the sales people better understand our clients so they can help them with their problems.

Ryan:  My job has two main roles; the first part of my job consists of doing thorough research on businesses in order to identify where these companies could use our help. The second half of my job is to raise the awareness of the Active International brand in Canada.

Which project(s) are you most excited about?

Ryan:   Honestly, I am interested and enthusiastic about all aspects of my job.  I am still new, and every project I take on is something different and challenging.  I am really excited going forward to see how my role evolves and the new challenges that will come my way.

Sean:  I am especially excited to start blogging and contributing to the social networking side of our business on twitter and linkedin.

Tell us about your charity of choice and the last thing you did to support it?

Ryan:  Currently I am enrolled in an event called Tough Mudder which is a 17km obstacle course that is held all over North America. The event raises money for a charity called “the wounded warriors of Canada” which raises money to provide counseling, employment, and post stress recovery programs for soldiers injured in combat. I will be raising money for this cause throughout the summer as the race comes closer and getting my friends and family to do the same.

Sean:  While not so much a formal charity as a school service, I have volunteered for a Walk-Home service weekly since I started university two years ago. It is something that is near and dear to my heart.

Adjective your family would use to best describe you?

Sean:  Dedicated.

Ryan:  Determined.

Adjective Active employees would use to best describe you?

Sean: I want to say a pleasure to work with but that may be pushing it.

Ryan:  …lanky?

Adjective your best friend would use to best describe you?

Sean:  Serious.

Ryan:  I would hope they would say unbelievably awesome… but some may describe me as someone who is “easily messed with”.

Favorite Ad of all time?

Ryan:  I would have to say that my favorite ad of all time would have to be either the ad by Nike called “chosen” where they show off the extreme sports athletes they sponsor while shooting the whole thing at night.  Or the recent red bull ad.  It is shot unbelievably and the song they use in the background is one of my favorites by M83.

Sean:   I wanted to be all majestic here and give some epic, game on the line, sporting goods commercial… but it’s the freecreditreport.com commercial with the guy working at the seafood restaurant.  I may or may not have all the words memorized…

Based on your experience so far, what advice would you give to any other students interested in joining a co-op program for the first time?

Ryan:  If you have the option to get into a co-op program take advantage of it! You’re exposed you to sides of the workforce that you might not have seen otherwise and allows you to see what jobs are out there and more importantly what you really want to do. It also doesn’t hurt  that you’re getting paid more than minimum wage.

Sean:  This isn’t very original but just work hard. No one expects you to work miracles… but a positive attitude and a strong work ethic will leave a lasting impression that people don’t soon forget.

Ryan & Sean will be working hard with the Active Canada team until August 30th.  Please join me in wishing them a warm welcome!

Cheers

Kim @ Active