I conducted a little Q&A with Active’s newest member of the Client Relationship Team, the lovely Scott Miles! I wanted the world to get to know this Movember man who will soon amaze our clients with his outstanding relationship management skills, media expertise and witty sense of humour.

You have just been promoted from Media Assistant Client Relations Associate – congratulations!  Please explain your new job as you would to a 5-year-old:

I am the primary point of contact with a customer.  I focus on ensuring Active provides value by working with the customer to explore and manage the different ways they can efficiently use their Active credits.

(I would then proceed to shamelessly trump said 5-year-old in a game of tic-tac-toe)

Most memorable moment at Active?

During my time as a member of our media team I had the chance to attend a great deal of “Upfronts”, held by our various media partners. I remember meeting the actors who hilariously portray the nerds of “The Big Bang Theory” and chatting with a pleasantly laid back Dragon, Robert Herjavec. I’m not exactly a star-gazer, but I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t a memorable moment.

Tell us about your Active Cares charity of choice and the last thing you did to support it?

Like many other Canadian men, I’m a supporter of and participant in the Movember  movement. As the organization’s website outlines, the Movember motivation is to raise vital funds and awareness for men’s health, specifically prostate cancer. This year I managed to raise $430, which I was very pleased and thankful to have done considering my pathetic inability to actually grow a moustache (I was basically willing and pleading with my upper lip to cooperate).

If you weren’t in your current career you would probably be a ……

Top six forward for the Toronto Maple Leafs. Apparently it’s not that hard.

Favourite Travel Spot?

I’ve got to go with Interlaken, Switzerland. I spent some weeks travelling throughout Europe a couple of summers back and I had an amazing time in this small Swiss town. A combo of Swiss chocolate, mountain biking, canyoning (yes, this is a real thing) and soccer between the mountains with fellow travelers made for a truly incredible stay. A can’t-miss destination.

Adjective your family would use to best describe you?

“useful”

Adjective your Customers would use to best describe you?

“useful”

Adjective your best friend would use to best describe you?

If he could see the above, “useless”. Who needs enemies when you’ve got friends like this?

What’s the most innovative thing you’ve seen a customer do to leverage their credits/obtain credits?

I am always fascinated by the different types of inventory our customers trade us in order to obtain their credits. Here is my shortlist of favourites: old engines, a candle making machine, scrap metal, bins of powdered soap, obsolete cash registers, frozen noodles. I think it’s  the creativity at work here that amazes me the most. The whole idea of regaining full dollar-on-dollar value for all sorts of stressed inventories is, in my opinion, truly innovative. It’s a lemons to lemonade kind of scenario.

Favourite Ad of all time?

The Nike Air Jordan brand is remarkably potent-permeating sports and popular culture for decades. The Michael Jordan aura has seemingly come to define what it means and what it takes to succeed. I think advertisements like this one very effectively convey this message.

Cheers,

Scott @ Active